Meanderings around Europe by train – and other stuff

What a scorcher Binz day 3

We got up at a sensible time today and at breakfast I found the croissants! No where near the other bread of course.

There was no plan for today, but knowing it was likely to be warmer we set off walking beyond the fountain at the 'end' of the promenade - it's not really the end but it's where the shops and cafes stop.

We sat for quite a while in the shade - it was getting hotter by the moment before the little black flies became too much.

We got as far as the Muther Turm - which I was delighted to see. It's a GDR era lifeguard lookout in a most unusual design and construction. It looks like a UFO. I think it's used as a wedding venue now. There's a photo below.

1000017643

Back at the pier head we treated ourselves to some lovely cold lemonade and apfelshorle (a splendid drink unknown outside of Germany).

1000017645

My wife decided that the day was hot enough for her to dip her toes in the Baltic Sea. So, a quick change and off we went. I had to help her (because she is very unsteady on sand) and all I can say is f***me that water's cold. But she enjoyed her paddle.

My wife also bought a ring from one of the stalls on the prom - it turned out that the seller was married to an English man and was amazed to meet English tourists here!

We are thinking of going back to the Italian restaurant this evening.