Meanderings around Europe by train – and other stuff

Pre-Departure Anxiety & Packing

I suffer from situational anxiety - it's related solely to going away on trips from home. It's been particularly bad at airports - in fact I pretty much collapsed at Palma Airport a few years ago. I've had a course of NHS online therapy which helped me identify the cause - which is not knowing what sort of pile of stinking ordure I would be returning to. This relates to family matters that I may discuss another time - suffice to say that we've had plenty of holiday trips where bad things have happened while we've been away!

We're off to Germany at lunchtime today, and unusually my anxiety levels are starting to peak 6 hours early. There's no rational reason for this. And no straightforward 'cure'.

All the travel plans are in place. The details are clear in my head (and on a duplicated computer file). The suitcase and backpack are packed. The cat-sitter is keyed up and raring to go.

The suitcase! We only take one bag - my wife can't manage a second, so I drag the big wheeled 'Amazon Basics' bag around. This time it's weighing in at 21kg and it is stuffed! It feels almost too heavy to lift (although I can). While the contents are well packed using compression packing cubes they always seem to 'settle' as the trip progresses! The only thing in the bag I'm unsure of are the two rain ponchos - moderately bulky, but possibly essential if the weather forecast is wrong.

See you on the other side!