Meanderings around Europe by train – and other stuff

Home, Home Again!

I was awake before the ferry docked at Harwich, but that wasn't a problem as it gave me time to reflect and get my bearings.

As usual we were turfed out of our cabin smartish upon the car decks being opened - no time for a leisurely start really. I understand the reasoning and that the cabins all have to be serviced, but it does seem a bit frantic.

We had a wait of over an hour on the platform at Harwich International station (Parkeston Quay is a much better name) and it was certainly a chilly morning. The ferry terminal waiting area is open, but it's out of sight of the trains, and there's no rail information there, so it's not really a great option.

Thankfully the train crew let us on the waiting train pretty much as soon as it was in the station, which made the wait a little warmer and a lot less draughty.
The conductor explained how these FLIRT units work - I'd assumed that they were bi-mode, but the diesel engines only run to provide enough electric power to run the train when the pantographs are down, the diesel power units do not actually drive the train at all. He was also bemoaning the complications of the ticketing structure and holds out great hope for the new government simplifying the system (I wouldn't hold my breath though).

Once in Cambridge - eventually - we did the usual thing and had breakfast in the Ibis Hotel cafe which is pleasant oasis. I bought some groceries and got some cash to pay both our cat-sitter and the taxi at Leicester.

The service to Leicester was very busy, but in the small First Class area we got chatting to a Canadian couple who were on their way to Edinburgh (via Peterborough) - also great travellers and she was also a travel sketcher, but more! She was obviously a pretty talented artist as well.

As usual we invested in a taxi to take us home - a luxury that rounds off the trip.

The cat was pleased to see us although it's plain that he's lost weight in our absence.

The plants that have been delivered while we've been away are healthy, but the cucumber & melon plants haven't survived our absence - I'm dreading seeing what the allotment is like!

We've had a great time, but it's been exhausting - and now we're ready for a rest.

The highlights?
The last day on the beach at Hoek
The kindness of the stranger who gave us a lift
The street running steam train at Bad Doberan (although Heligendamm was very poor)

The disappointments?
Prora - I know I'm not a drone, but it was a pity not to see it in it's long drawn out glory and the museum concentrated too much on the KdF history rather than the GDR aspects
The very long train trips to & from Berlin - 6+ hours on a train is far too long
I'm still confused by the charging structure on the P&O ferry - I can't help feeling I've been ripped off somewhere, somehow!
Bonus issue:
My phone taking a holiday near the end of the trip - I'm still unsure what that was all about!

That's all for this blog and this trip - thanks for your attention.
If & when we take another mammoth trip then I'll notify subscribers if the address changes.
Bye - Michael & Sandra